2018 Board of Directors

Food AND Medicine’s (FAM’s) Board of Directors is made up of members of the community, and is at all times at least 51% low-income people. Our Board meets at least six times per year, and is very active in our programs, events, and decision-making for the organization.

In 2017, we increased the number of Board members to 15 from 12.

Robert (Bob) Toole, Jr., President, of Glenburn, Maine, is a member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 1837, working as a Customer Service Representative for Emera. Bob has been very active in nearly every FAM project since 2003.



Kevin Gregory, Treasurer, of East Millinocket, Maine, is a laid-off paper mill worker and current peer support worker for the Katahdin area. He is president of the local Firemen and Oilers Union in Millinocket, and a town selectman. Kevin has been active in FAM since 2003.



Jenna Dumoulin, Vice President, of Bangor, Maine, is a single mom of two and a home health-care worker, working with elderly Alzheimer’s and dementia patients. She has extensive experience facilitating substance abuse support groups.



Lisa Feldman, Secretary, of Orono, Maine, is a member of Maine Education Association (MEA), and retired from the University of Maine, Orono’s library in 2016. She has been an active member of Food AND Medicine for over ten years, participating in most events and programs. She is passionate about public transportation, as she regularly relies on the bus system. Lisa was elected to the Board in 2017.


Heinrick Snyder, of Bangor, is an artist, choreographer and dancer, and works as a pizza delivery person. Heinrick has been active with FAM since 2010.

Rev. Dr. Mark Doty, of Brewer, is a pastor with the Hammond Street Congregational Church in Bangor. Mark is a primary figure in FAM’s faith-based organizing projects.

Theodore Rippy, of Bangor, is a retired direct care worker, and former Vice President of Maine State Employees Association (MSEA)-SEIU, Local 771, a union of direct care workers.

Loren Snow, of Surry, is a retired truck driver from the Maine Department of Transportation, and an active retiree of MSEA-SEIU, Local 1989. Loren has been very active in FAM since 2010, and is an outspoken supporter of workers’ rights.

Mary Ann Perry, of Holden, is a semi-retired teacher and an active member of St. Patrick’s Episcopal Church in Brewer. Mary Ann is very active in FAM’s Faith Linking in Action programs, and was elected to the Board in 2015.

Kati Corlew, PhD, of Hampden, is an Assistant Professor of Psychology at University of Maine, Augusta. Her expertise and focus is on the psychology of poverty – both on the effects of being poor and how the poor are treated by others. Kati manages a community garden on campus and is in the process of organizing an on-campus food pantry for students. She was elected to the Board in 2017.

Joshua Kauppila, of Bangor, has job experience in residential care and farming, and currently works in business cleaning. He has been actively involved as a volunteer at Solidarity Harvest since 2015 and is a member of the Food Access Committee and the Leadership Institute Advisory Group. Josh has a passion for building community resilience at the grassroots level and was elected to the Board in 2017.

Carmine Leighton, of Bangor, is a student, artist and activist. She has experience organizing, including a community garden in Boston; she is actively involved in many issues, including social, economic and environmental justice. Carmine is a former restaurant worker, and has spoken at several of our events on the subject of minimum wage and the sub-minimum for tipped workers. She was elected to the Board in 2017.

Stephanie Mattsen, of Bangor, is a care giver at a mental health group home, and is passionate about food insecurity. She volunteered at Solidarity Harvest in 2015 and has since been an active participant in many of our programs, including the Food Access Committee. Stephanie joined the Solidarity Harvest Committee in 2016, managed our Union Supported Agriculture CSA program, and has tabled at events on our behalf. She was elected to the Board in 2017.

Marc Cryer, of Orono, is Director of University of Maine’s Bureau of Labor Education, a department dedicated to providing education, information and research to workers and labor organizations in Maine. He is a California licensed attorney with a background in public sector labor relations, collective bargaining, and workplace conflict resolution. Marc was elected to the Board in 2018.

Sandy Joy, of Bangor, worked for FAM as an Organizer for several years, and is a social worker and substance abuse counselor; she currently works for Wellspring Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services. Most recently, Sandy founded our weekly Congressional Outreach group. She was elected to the Board in 2018.